top of page

WTAC 2024: 30TH - 31ST AUGUST


The beginnings of the World Time Attack Challenge can be traced back to a local event, held at Sydney’s now defunct Oran Park Raceway. In 2008 Ian Baker organised the first Superlap Australia event after going to Japan and competing with the Hi Octane Racing team at the famous Tsukuba Circuit.


Ian recalls: “I was so impressed with the quality of cars and the whole time attack scene in Japan that I thought – we need to introduce this sport to Australia!”

As the interest and participation in the format grew, Ian saw an opportunity to re-create the event on a scale previously unseen in the sport of time attack. The idea was to create a truly international event where the best of international time attack teams compete on the same track at the same event. In this format, the teams represent not just the tuning shops behind the car but also their country. All for the glory of being crowned the World Time Attack Champion.

In the beginning...

What is Time Attack?

Time Attack format is not unlike a qualifying lap in traditional motorsport with competitors racing against the clock with the fastest single lap collecting the prize. While there is no door-to-door racing as such, teams are actively competing against each other and there are plenty of strategies, decisions and tricks of the trade to squeeze every one-hundredth of a second on that final lap.


The most exciting thing about this type of racing is the fact that the rules are limited almost purely to the safety aspects meaning the vehicles can have almost unlimited modifications making for some seriously spectacular on track action.

The official practice takes place on Thursday, or Day 0 of the event. It is a closed day with no spectators and the laps are not timed. Historically the practice day is a good indication of the car’s true potential as the teams are keen to set a good benchmark time for the event.

All cars have to pass scrutineering prior to the event. Scrutineers check for all the required safety components and whether the car complies with its class rules.


Competitors are divided into four classes; Clubsprint, Open, Pro Am and Pro. The fastest 5 cars in each class at the end of the last session on Day 2 get a bonus round called Superlap Shootout.

Superlap Shootout gives another opportunity to the top five cars in each class to improve their time. With the track at optimum temperature and no traffic to negotiate, you are likely to see the fastest times of the event during the Superlap Shootout.

The team with the fastest overall lap (over the 2 days) in his/her class claims the Class Trophy.  The team with the fastest Pro Class lap is declared the WTAC Winner.


bottom of page